WHAT MAKES JELLY BELLY JELLY BEANS DIFFERENT FROM OTHER JELLY BEANS?
Jelly Belly jelly beans differ from ordinary jelly beans because of their authentic and intense flavours, the number of flavours, the smaller size, the brilliant colors and, of course, the Jelly Belly name on every bean.
Developed for the sophisticated palate, most Jelly Belly flavors use fine natural ingredients, whenever possible, to flavour the beans, i.e., chocolate, coconut, fruit juice concentrates and fruit purees like strawberry, pear and banana. These "true-to-life" flavours are mixed into the center and the shell.
IS IT TRUE THAT JELLY BEANS CAN PROVIDE A SOURCE OF ENERGY?
When we digest sugar which is a natural carbohydrate, it releases glucose or blood sugar - essential for our body to work properly. The body converts sugar to energy more quickly than fats or proteins which is why athletes and diabetics often eat jelly beans when they need a quick boost when their blood glucose levels are low.
ARE JELLY BELLY BEANS KOSHER?
Yes, we are happy to report Jelly Belly® jelly beans and all of our confections, with the exception of Harry Potter™ Chocolate Frogs are certified kosher by the Orthodox Union (OU). The OU, or OU-Dairy symbol is now on packages and bulk bin labels for all candies produced at the Jelly Belly factories.
IF I AM ALLERGIC TO PEANUTS, CAN I EAT JELLY BELLY?
None of the flavours of Jelly Belly beans now produced contain peanut as an ingredient, nor do we process peanuts in any of our manufacturing plants.
NOTE: On occasion, other companies repackage our products in their own production facilities. If our product is packaged and distributed by another company, it will be noted on the package. Please check with them regarding possible peanut exposure.
I'M ALLERGIC TO TREE NUTS, CAN I EAT YOUR PRODUCTS?
UNITED STATES: Our jelly beans and other confections that are manufactured and distributed in the USA are made in plants that process tree nuts: almonds, walnuts, cashews and pecans. All our plants use coconut (a tree nut allergen in the USA) as an ingredient. Please read the package Ingredient Label and bulk bins to see if a specific tree nut is present.
INTERNATIONAL: Most of our products available internationally (outside the US) are manufactured in a nut free plant based in Thailand. This information is stated on the package. Some people have multiple sensitivities. All of our confections manufactured in the US and around the world are peanut-free. NOTE: On occasion, other companies repackage our products in their own production facilities. If our candy is packaged and distributed by another company, it will be noted on the package. Please check with the packaging company regarding possible peanut and tree nut exposure.
DO JELLY BELLY BEANS CONTAIN GELATINE?
No. Jelly Belly jelly beans are made from sugar, corn syrup, modified food starch (from corn), flavours and colours. They do not contain Gelatine.
ARE JELLY BELLY BEANS SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS?
Yes they are, however vegans will have issues with the beeswax and shellac used to seal in the flavour and give them their final buff and polish.
ARE JELLY BELLY BEANS GLUTEN FREE?
We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch used in the manufacture of our jelly beans is cornstarch.
DO JELLY BELLY BEANS CONTAIN DAIRY PRODUCTS OR EGGS?
None of our Jelly Belly jelly beans contain dairy ingredients or eggs.
DO JELLY BELLY BEANS CONTAIN SOYA DERIVED INGREDIENTS?
Always read the Ingredient Label to see if soya is present. Currently Candy Corn contains modified soya protein and the following Jelly Belly flavours contain Soy Lecithin (used as an Emulsifier): Ice Cream Parlour Chocolate Chunk, Ice Cream Parlour, Chocolate Mint, Chocolate Pudding and Dark Chocolate. All of our chocolate confections also contain Soy Lecithin.
DO JELLY BELLY BEANS CONTAIN ALCOHOL?
No. Despite some of our fun cocktail sounding names Jelly Belly jelly beans contain no traces of alcohol in the finished product.
HOW MANY CALORIES & CARBS ARE THERE IN A SINGLE JELLY BELLY BEAN?
There are only 4 calories per bean, or about 100 calories per single serving (25 beans). They have approximately 1 gram of carbohydrate per bean and zero fat as an extra bonus.